fig-aro

September 10, 2010 § 3 Comments

Figs were at the farmers market this week! I have been waiting and waiting for them and was worried I might miss them since I hear they have a very short season. They were perfectly ripe but it took me a coupla days to figure out what to finally do with them. You guys know me and scones, so naturally I settled on trying to make some with figs and feta. I am sure its been done by someone somewhere, but in my case, I’d like to think I made it up, thank you.

The recipe is so simple, I just might convert to using this as my base for other scones… Here ya go if you want to give it a try (I modified this original recipe):

2 cups of spelt flour (you could also use all-purpose flour)
1 TBSP baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3 tsp sugar
1/3 cup of butter, chilled and cut into large pieces
1/2 soy milk (you could use regular milk)
1/2 feta
3/4 cups of diced figs

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Mix together flour, baking powder, salt and sugar.

Work the butter in with a fork or your hands until it resembles dry bread crumbs.

Add soy and feta and mix just until in comes together.

Add figs, mix and knead with your hands a few times to evenly distribute the fruit.

Form into a ball and flatten on a cutting board then slice into 8 wedges.

Place on your prepared cookie sheet and bake for 15-20 minutes.

They taste delightfully different and I totally loved the unexpected combination.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to fig-aro

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading fig-aro at whitecrow.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.